Food Safety standards and schemes

LRQA has worked extensively across the food sector for over two decades, assisting with the development, formalization and improvement of food safety standard.

Our food safety experts serve as active members of the world's leading food safety technical committees, including the ISO 22000 Technical Committee, the European Accreditation Board's Food Committee, the Foundation for Food Safety Certification, and the Global Food Safety Initiative's (GFSI) Technical Committee.

Standards we certify

2nd Party Services

2nd Party services provide tailored or bespoke solutions to help manage your operational risks, suppliers and supply chain risks. 2nd Party services can range from total supply chain management and supplier evaluation to performance, surveillance audits and product verification.

BRC Global Standard for Food Safety issue 7

The BRC Global Standard for Food Safety – first published in 1998 and now in its 7th issue. The standard is for food manufacturers and contains requirements for a HACCP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point) system in accordance with the requirements of Codex Alimentarius, a documented quality management system and control of the factory environment standards, products, process and personnel.

BRC Global Standards

BRC Global Standards and Schemes are used by suppliers and global retailers. They facilitate standardization of quality, safety, operational criteria and manufacturers’ fulfillment of legal obligations. They also help provide protection to the consumer.

Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) Services

The FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) was signed into law by President Obama on January 4, 2011. It aims to ensure the U.S. food supply is safe by shifting the focus of federal regulators from responding to contamination to preventing it.

FSSC 22000 Certification

The Food Safety System Certification 22000 scheme - FSSC 22000 - has been developed for food manufacturers that process or manufacture animal or perishable vegetal products, products with a long shelf life and food ingredients such as additives, vitamins and bio-cultures.


The Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI), coordinated by CIES – The Food Business Forum, was launched in May 2000. Under the umbrella of the GFSI, seven major retailers, including Walmart and Tesco, have reached a common acceptance of GFSI-benchmarked food safety schemes (including FSSC 22000, BRC, IFS, HACCP). To reduce redundancy in the supply chain, these seven retailers have agreed to common acceptance of certification to any of the GFSI-accepted schemes.

GFSI - Global markets programme

The Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) Global Markets Programme is an initiative launched by the GFSI which offers small and less-developed organizations a step-by-step approach to implementing food safety requirements building to GFSI-recognized food safety standard or scheme certification.


Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) techniques are increasingly being used in the food industry and are become a universally accepted method for food safety assurance. The UK’s Food Standards Agency recommends HACCP as the most effective way for food businesses to ensure consumer protection.

ISO 22000

ISO 22000 is an international standard which specifies the requirements for a food safety management system. It involves interactive communication, system management, prerequisite programmes and HACCP principles.

ISO/TS 22002-1

Was developed to specify requirements for prerequisite programs to assist in controlling food safety standards within the manufacturing processes of the food supply chain. It is intended to be used with ISO 22000.